The hours are ticking down.

Today is the last day of submission for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award.  At midnight tonight, submissions will close and the judging will begin.  I am a little nervous.  I wonder if my novel is good enough to make it through the first few rounds.  Is the writing effective enough to catch the judge’s attention?  I’ve submitted to Writers of the Future a fair few times, so I know a little bit of what to expect, but this is totally new.

I’ve been reading Dean Wesley Smith’s blog posts on his site about agents and novels.  I know they’re not really looking for how good the book is.  They want to see if the author has staying power.  It’s not so much that they’re worried about the first novel selling.  They want to know if the next ten will sell.  The only difference between a regular novel submission to a publisher and Amazon is that they open parts of the book to general readers.  Definitely a little scary.  I will update as I know more.

To read Dean Smith’s posts about the myths of writing go to http://deanwesleysmith.com

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The hours are ticking down.

  1. Congrats on the new blog and your novel completion, Amanda! That is a huge step and you had the guts to actually submit it too! Way to go!

    ~Anthony

Comments are closed.