The book just isn’t as good as the movie.

Rarely, if ever do you hear that sentence.  Every once-in-a-while, you’ll see a book rendition of a film screenplay and the movie is much better, but in general, book fans are purists.

So many times, I have left the theater with a friend who immediately started berating the movie because it missed scene X in the book where the hero’s loving side kick does something cute.   The point is, if they left it in, the movie would have been another fifteen minutes in a two and half hour movie.  Movie goers don’t wanna sit that long.  Lord of the Ring fans remember that numb feeling in your butt?

Now, that trilogy was a masterpiece and very well adapted.  Even then, I heard fans of the movie extolling the absence of Tom Bombadil.  If you remember, he played a very minor role and was only included as a favor by Tolkien to Hobbit fans.  His role was more of a “Sorry Mario, but the princess is in another castle.”  It really didn’t make a difference.

I see film adaptations of my favorite stories as an artistic interpretation.  I look more for how the film makers have brought such beloved characters to the screen.  Do they match how I pictured them in my mind?  I also look to see if it catches the mood of the story.

For instance, when I was very little, I saw Dune.  It wasn’t until years later I actually read the book.  I was disappointed at first that they didn’t match up but I fell into the beauty of the story, the complexity of the characters, the genius.  Then I saw the Sci-Fi channel version and it made  me sad.  It was more accurate, but I found it lacking.  Maybe it was because I grew up with the original or maybe it was because it failed to catch the mood of the story.

Either way, I enjoy a film for the film’s sake and a book for the book’s sake, but overall, I enjoy the story as long as it’s good.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The book just isn’t as good as the movie.

  1. I thankful I saw the LotR films without having read the books. I loved the films and consider them some of the best fantastic cinema ever done. Alas, the books… I have started reading LotR three times, and stop dead at Tom Bombadill every time. The language is just too dated, the pace too sleepy, and Bombadill too distracting. Besides, I saw the films, and know basically what happens anyway.

  2. Chris Kouju says:

    You have a point! The fan part of me wanted everything in Lord of the Rings (and my best friend bemoaned the lack of a proper House of Healing scene for Faramir and Eowyn) but the films were outstanding on their own.

Comments are closed.