Of streaks and things

So now that I’m writing on a regular basis again, there are two things I’m going to do.  Firstly, I’m going to try to keep up a weekly blog.  I’ve heard these things are dead useful for getting publishers’ attention and marketing.

Secondly, and most importantly,  I’m going to start a daily and weekly streak.  Starting today, I will write a minimum of 500 words per day and 14 pages per week.  I would like to get up to 5000 words per day eventually.  I’ve done the math.  I write 70 wpm, that’s 700 words in 10 minutes and 4200 in an hour.  This is, of course, assuming a steady creative flow.  At 5000 words per day, writing 7 days a week, I can write a novel in three weeks.  I know it will take time to develop the skill and determination to get to that point, but I have every confidence that I will.

Now, for everyone like me, having a hard time getting started, a website.

http://www.helium.com/items/1830357-things-an-aspiring-writer-should-know-before-giving-up

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Of streaks and things

  1. I love your determination to get a streak going. Especially at this time in your life, when the forces and circumstances of things might seem to be at their darkest. Your self doubt is going to be way up there. Or at least that’s been true for me, very often, when I’ve been having a rough go of it. Stick to the dream. Do the work. A little a day, a lot a day, just don’t quit!

  2. izanobu says:

    Wow, you type fast when writing 🙂 My WPM is about 75-90 if I want to keep 90%+ accuracy, but that’s only when doing things like transcribing or stuff. I write so much slower when composing fiction (more like 25-30wpm). Maybe I should work on that 😉

    Anyway, your streak is awesome, keep it up! I’m also hoping to work up to 5000 words a day (though for me that’s about 4 hours of work instead of 1.5). It seems like a good pace to develop.

Comments are closed.