Life gets in the way.

Well, I broke my streak.  I suppose it was going to happen sooner or later.  I just got way too busy.  Friday I worked and we went out of town.  I managed to write some Saturday and yesterday I worked a long shift.  I probably could have written something before work, but I’m a really fantastic procrastinator.

It takes some work to get back into the groove of things.  I know with a little time and effort, I’ll be writing at least 500 words a day every day.  Over time, I’ll be able to push that daily word count ever higher.  I’m sure there will always be days when I fall short, but hopefully, the good days will out weigh the bad days or the busy days.

My focus this week will be to fix my printer and get some stories out in the mail.  I recently found out that I narrowly missed a finalist spot in WotF for some indeterminate reason.  So I know my stories are well written.  WotF only takes the really good stories.  Unfortunately, the quality of those stories is getting better and better, making the competition much harder.

I’m working on a story for Q4.  I hope I can push the quality to something they’ll really like.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Life gets in the way.

  1. I don’t really believe the quality of stories is something objective, nor do I put all that much stock in WOTF. But, anything that causes a story teller to feel confident in themselves and their stories is a good thing in my book. Since to me its all subjective, I think our first goal should be to be happy with our own work, since ours is the opinion we can best understand. Then the trick is just finding somebody publishy who has similar tastes 🙂

    Don’t feel to bad about the broken streak, either. Everyones life has many aspects, and all of them sometimes have to take a backseat to others at different times. Can’t write very well if the lightbill doesn’t get paid or theres no food to eat 🙂

Comments are closed.