Trying to focus

I’m starting to get my writing back into gear.  Without a job to suck away my life, my mind can focus more on my stories.  Ideas are starting to drift back up to the surface.  Novel ideas mainly, based on some  of my earlier short stories.  I really think I’m geared more towards longer formats than shorter, considering my last two short stories were nearly 10,000 words.  I’m still going to do short stories, if only to participate in Writers of the Future and then send the rejects out among the other publications.

Some things I want to focus on:  Writing shorter short stories.  That way I can send them out to more markets.  Writing short stories faster.  The more I can write, the more I can flood the market with ME!  And finally, now this is the biggie, a novel every two months or at least 2000 words a day if I’m working on a short story.  I’m no where near my 5000 words a day and that will be something to work up to.  Right now I’m at 500 words a day and that is simply too low.  I will work my way up to 2000 and see how I feel from there.

Now some people may think that this focus is too ambitious, that writing fast is a “bad thing.”  Let’s look at it this way.  They say one million words before you start selling.  Well, the faster you write, the sooner you get to that.  Also, the faster you write, the closer you are to outputting as quickly as your brain.  Now, the real doozy.  I love numbers.  They’re predictable.  Assuming a book every two months, that’s six books a year, at least 600,000 words, plus the 200,000 some odd words I’ve already put back.  That’s very close to my million.  Also, even if I only sell half of the novels I write in that year, I’ll be making fairly good money.  Let’s break it down, shall we?

Let’s low-ball and assume my advance per novel is 5k, that’s 15k.  Plus foreign rights, ebooks, royalties, and audio.  Royalties are fun.  Hopefully, I’ll get publication in hardback, but most likely start in paperback.  Let’s go with hardback just for funsies, k? Each novel sells 10,000 copies.  Average hardback is 30 dollars.  Average royalty is 10%.  Do you see where this is going?  30 times 10,000 is 300,000, times 3 (3 book sales) is 900,000.  10% of 900,000 is 90,000.  That’s enough to keep most folks going for a long, long time.  Now this is of course, an excellent scenario.  There is always the chance my books won’t sell well.  I’d rather think they’ll sell.

I know, I know, don’t count your eggs before they hatch, blah, blah, blah.  What can I say?  I’m ambitious.  Besides, it gives me something to strive for.  Now looking at all of those gorgeous numbers, you wanna tell me you can’t make money as a writer?  You can.  You just have to bust your booty.  Now get out there and do it!

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trying to focus

  1. There’s nothing wrong with ambition– go for gold!

Comments are closed.