Serenity, e-publishing, and progress

There’s nothing quite like driving home at sunset in pleasant weather and a soothing song on the radio after an easy day of work.  There isn’t a drug in the world that can give me such a sense of calm.  This was a week or two ago.  The sky was just the prettiest pink and Muse’s new song “Undisclosed Desires” was playing.  I was on my way home from my new job which is such a total reverse of my last job.  I had even gotten some writing done that day.  I don’t dread getting up in the morning.  I don’t despair at the calls I’ll get.  It’s just serene right now.  I know it won’t last forever.  We’ll get a new contract and things will get unbelievably busy.  But for now, life is good.

I’ve been reading a lot of blogs on writing and the writing industry, particularly deanwesleysmith.com and kriswrites.com.  The prevalent theme is the future of publishing.  E-publishing is hitting the industry like a tidal wave.  Either hold on or get out of the way because it’s a big thing.  I don’t think it will kill publishing as it is today, but it will definitely present more options to writers.  It’s a very exciting thing and I had something really cool happen this morning.

See, I get daily e-mails from Barnes and Noble (what can I say, I’m a bibliophile) and they had the neatest newsletter this morning.  It was about PubIt.  PubIt is their publishing software for the Nook.  The newsletter was directed at readers (duh) and WRITERS who wanted to e-publish.    Barnes and Noble gets it.  They understand that the world of e-publishing is a wonderful thing for writers.  Books dropped from a publishing company can be put up in electronic format.  New books can give fans more from their favorite author or something different from an unheard of author.  Places like Amazon and Barnes and Noble get this, but there are lots of writers out there still digging in their heels.  But that’s okay.  It just means my e-pubbed stories will get more attention….for now.

But I’m not ready for that, not yet.  I need to get my foot in the door, get a few published works under my belt.  And I’m making progress.  Now that I don’t have so much stress in my life, writing is easier.  I just finished a novella and I’m working on a military sci-fi piece.  I could tell you more, but I’d have to kill you.  The titles and subjects are top secret.  I’m sorry.  =P  Now if I could just get off my butt and fix that synopsis and cover letter so I can query some editors for my novel.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Serenity, e-publishing, and progress

  1. I thought PubIt looked promissing, too. It appears author-friendly. 🙂

    I agree with waiting before attempting any e-publishing. For me, it would be nice to know if there’s an audience for my work first. But then again, I’m very pro-traditional routs with a little bit of new on the side.

Comments are closed.