Goals and things

So fellow aspirant Annie Bellet and I decided to challenge each other to a word war.  One hundred thousand words a month for the next twelve months.  That’s right, you read correctly.  100,000 words a month for the next year.

Now, I know some of you look at that and think I’m crazy.  How can anyone possibly write that much?  Won’t it all just be a bunch of terrible gibberish?  No, it won’t.  Stop that thinking right now before I reach through your ethernet cable and smack you.  Lots of authors write fast.  Very fast.  Nora Roberts writes six books a year, Kevin J. Anderson does five.  Dean Wesley Smith and Kris Rusch do about as many if not more.  I don’t really know, I haven’t asked and they don’t post hard numbers.

The point is, you can write fast and get published.  You don’t have to agonize over every single word in an attempt to write the perfect story.  There’s no such animal so quit snipe hunting.  You won’t find it and your friends have played a cruel joke on you to even suggest the idea.

Unfortunately, I only managed 72,000 for this month.  It seems I have trouble finding the motiviation to write on weekends and even less on holidays.  Good to know and squirrel away for a later date.  I have a feeling this month will run much the same, but I’d very much like to get to 100k, even if just once.  Writing 7 days a week, that will take 3300 words a day.  Only writing Monday through Friday, that will take around 5000 words a day.  I’d rather not do that.  So I need to come up with ways to motivate myself on the weekends.  Even if it’s just 1000 words a day on the weekends and holidays.  I’ll get there.  I need the practice.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Goals and things

  1. DavidRM says:

    That is an *aggressive* goal. You go! =)

    -David

Comments are closed.