Dare to be bad

I am daring to be bad. No, I’m not going to break any laws or violate any moral boundaries. I”m taking the risk that I might suck, that an editor might hate my story. Dean Wesley Smith just did a great post about this. The idea is that a writer is their own worst critic. As is any artist. You send out any story, regardless of what you think of it, to someone who can buy it.

Don’t trunk it, don’t toss, write it and mail it, inner editor be damned. I just mailed out some stories that I’m not particularly fond of, but that’s just my opinion. An editor might think better of it. I’m taking that chance. I’m daring to be bad. I’m taking the risk that my story might be terrible. I don’t care. It’s not earning me any money on my hard drive. It’s only going to make money out in the world. So it’s out there now. They all are, save three. They’re going out later in the week.

So in addition to writing 100k a month, I’m keeping all of my stories, all of them, out in the mail. That puts my race score at 9. It’ll be 19 by the time I’m done. It will rise slowly and steadily over the year. I’m going to sell some stories, dammit. One way or the other.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Dare to be bad

  1. izanobu says:

    Yay! Remember, worst an editor can say is “no, not for me” 🙂

    Do eet!

  2. Go go go! 🙂 I’m adopting this policy, too.

Comments are closed.