One novel down, one million to go

Well, not really one million, but quite a few. The biggest challenge for a writer is to finish a work. Not starting it, but finishing it. If you can’t start a novel, you’ve got bigger issues. I would suggest therapy. And publication isn’t a challenge. There’s nothing you can do but submit your work and hope someone likes it. Even then, the best thing to do is submit and forget. Keep track of where you submit, of course. You don’t want to do multi-subs to the same market. But don’t worry about it. It’ll be a nice surprise when you get the check. Or at least that’s what I expect.

So now I’ve got two novels finished. When both are submitted, it’ll put my race score over twenty. Somewhere in the fifties is ideal for beginning writers from what I understand.  One word at a time.

Now to the next hardest part, writing the outline.  *sigh*  I’ll let the novel sit for a few days.  I’ll use those days to research markets and write the outline after I’ve had a few days distance.  Oh, and I’ll be writing during that time as well, working on short stories and planning out new novels.  I want to write at least six full novels this year, twelve if I’m really good.

Time to quit procrastinating and go back to work.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One novel down, one million to go

  1. izanobu says:

    w00t! Yay on finishing 🙂

  2. “Submit and forget” — I like it!

  3. YES AMANDA! Well done!

Comments are closed.