2011 Goals

I’ve been thinking about his a lot, as one often does at the end of the year.  What do I want to accomplish next year?  There are quite a few things really, some writing related, others not.  I’d like to lose fourty pounds and pay off two credit cards.  Those aren’t necessarily writing related, but seeing as I can focus better when I feel better and the less debt I have, the easier it will be to go freelance, they are somewhat related.  But those are just two, there are many, many more.  For the sake of time, I’ll post a short, overall list.

1. 100k words per month for the next year.  That comes out to 1.2 million words.  It’s certaily doable.  It would be 3300 words a day or 5000 words a day just Monday through Friday.  I’ve hit those numbers once or twice, so it’s possible.  I just need to work on consistency.

2. Write and finish at least twelve new short stories and send them to New York Publishers.  Not to difficult when you think about it really.  That’s a short story a month.  That’s also about 60,000 words.  I write a little bit longer so possibly up to 100,000 words.

3.  Write and finish at least six novels and send them to New York Publishers.  600,000 words

4. Write and finish at least four novels and put them online for e-publication.  200,000-400,000 words

5. Get my traditional race score above 30.  Which with twelve new short stores, plus the twelve I already have and six novel queries out, that would actually put me above 40, over 60 if the novel queries are all complete manuscripts.  Plus, I’ve got two novels already finished.

Now, with all that, that only puts my word count between 900k and 1.1 million.  (I know some of you are saying ONLY?)  I figure that’s a good buffer in case some things end up being longer than I planned.  I get really invested in stories and they can run long.  Plus, I may plan to do twelve additional short stories and post them online.  That would put my erace score at 32.  Not a great number, but it’s a start.

But with Dean Wesley Smith’s latest post, I figure I had better get my butt in gear and start practicing what I preach. It’s all well and fine to be sourced as one of the originators of a new system, but it’s better to put it into use. Onward and upward into the breach!

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to 2011 Goals

  1. izanobu says:

    You can do eet!
    6 novels x 3 points each = 18 + 12 short stories = 30 points in the Race 🙂 And hey, you can totally get more points by submitting those novels to places that want the full right off like Baen’s and (I think?) DAW.

    Good goals though. You better do it, or else I’m making you come visit me and go get Moroccan fudz 😉

  2. DavidRM says:

    I posted my 2011 goals today…and I until I saw your post I thought I was being all aggressive and ambitious. =)

    You go!

    -David

  3. DavidRM says:

    I posted my goals to my blog today. I thought I was being all ambitious and aggressive until I saw your post. =)

    You go!

    -David

  4. Jim Johnson says:

    Hi Amanda, followed you from Dean Smith’s blog. I’m curious about one of your goals. When you say write 12 new shorts and send them to NY Publishers, do you mean send them to pro publications, or actually to NY publishers. There are any number of professional short story markets that aren’t necessarily located in NY.

    Anyway, your goals look great. I’m working out what mine are now. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Jim, I did mean Pro Publications, sorry. I just sort of lump everything into New York. Some major novel publishers aren’t in New York either. Thanks and good luck with your goals!

  5. suzyspecter says:

    *^_^*

    You better gets to typing – I’ll be here to yell at you if you start slowing down… HYA HYA! *whipcrack*

Comments are closed.