Busy, busy, busy

*dusts off blog* Wow, I haven’t been in here in a while. I haven’t really had a whole lot to talk about, honestly, but it’s still good to maintain the page. I’ve just been so dang busy. Busy with what, you might ask?

Well, I’ve got a novel submitted to Amazon’s Breakthrough Novel Award. No, I’m not telling. It’s blind judging. Suffice to say it’s about these people that do these things and some other stuff. It’s awesome.

I’m also planning a trip out to the Oregon coast for a workshop. I think I’m about at the point in my writing career where I really need to grit my teeth, swallow the cost and get me some learnin’. I know I’m close to a sale, very close. I think this workshop may be what pushes my writing over the edge.

Then there was Snowpocalypse 2011 part one and part two. Most of my days were spent figuring out how I was going to get to my full time job and dealing with, well, snow. See, I live in the Midwest, we’re not used to snow. I know, I know, you folks up North think you’re all badass cuz you can drive in blizzards and nothing ever shuts down. Let me explain something to you. Because we don’t get snow very often, our cities don’t have the equipment, the supplies, or the budget to handle two feet of snow. We’re more equipped for tornados and floods. Why? Because they happen more. A lot more. There’s a reason we’re called tornado alley.

Granted, I spent a lot of my snow days being lazy when I should have been writing. It was time, at home, with my boyfriend and it was very nice. Some day, we’ll be able to take days off together that are planned other than nights and weekends. But that’s another story.

And finally, I’ve been writing. Not like I was in November and December. My output has suffered recently. I’m trying to figure out what I need to do to get my butt in gear. Part of it is a new schedule at work. Rather than working late morning to late in the evening, I’m up early, really early. I like getting up early, but I have to retrain my body to work during those hours. Of course, by the time I get myself adjusted, it’ll probably be shift change again. *sigh* Eventually, I hope to get myself trained that I can work anywhere, anytime, no matter what. My ex-husband could sleep anywhere in any position, courtesy of the US Army. If he can train his body to sleep, I can train my brain to write.

I’m waiting on an artist right now, but here soon, I should have the first novella in my series The New Dark Ages up on Kindle, Nook and Smashwords within the next month or so. E-publishing is taking off like a rocket and I find myself anxious to jump on board. I know it’s not going anywhere anytime soon, but all the news is exciting. For those of you living under a rock, indie author, Amanda Hocking just punched through the ceiling with sales. She was on USA Today’s best seller list for January. Why? Because she sold 450,000 ebooks in January. Play wih the math in your head, but even at 1$/book, the woman is making mad cash. I can only dream to be that successful, but even a small fraction of that number is promising. So with that thought, I’m off to write more.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Busy, busy, busy

  1. DavidRM says:

    Welcome back. =)

    I also found it difficult to write on “snow days”. Maybe it was all the white glare coming in my office window. Or maybe that much snow triggers an instinct to light fires and sleep in front of them.

    But the snow is melting! Finally.

    Now…to get my writing schedule back on track…

    -David

    • I think it’s just that it’s snowy and cold and not much else is going on. Businesses are closed, you don’t want to go anywhere and all you want to do is drink coffee and watch a movie in your pajamas. At least, that’s what I want to do.

  2. Kym DeCorte says:

    Hey girlie, I’m interested in this workshop you commented about, might be what I need as well. I am just a hairstylist after all, maybe I need some learnin…
    Kym
    PS see ya Friday

Comments are closed.