Oregon Workshop

Okay, now that I’ve somewhat recovered, let me tell you about the workshop. It was amazing. I learned a ton of writing techniques and focuses. No, I’m not going to tell you what they are. I could, but without the benefit of a professional writer and editor guiding you through the process, you would miss out on a good deal if what we went over.

You wanna learn? Go to Dean Wesley Smith’s site. He has workshops up and there’s a ton to learn from his blog. I’m going to warn you. If you think writing a book takes a year or more, or you think you have to rewrite it to death to make it good, his workshops may not be your thing. Up to you, really, and maybe Dean. I can only say I had a lot of fun. Stressful fun, but still fun. I met a lot of wonderful authors and got to pick the brains of published professionals. It was definitely worth it and if I sell the two short stories I wrote that week, it’ll pay for itself.

What was that? Two short stories in a week? How do I know if they’re any good? I don’t. I wrote them. I have no way of knowing. I’ll let an editor and the readers decide. I’ve got things to write. I don’t need to spend my time worrying about the last story I wrote. I’ll fix it on the next one.

Stay tuned for more exciting news.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.