Rammstein!

Okay, I want to make this blog a little bit more fun. Educational blogs and writing only info dumps are great and all, but I want to give people and prospective fans a better idea of who I am and what I’m about. Now, I’ve probably got some friends that are pretty sick of hearing about this concert, but it’s something near and dear to my heart.

You see, Rammstein is the reason I met Kevin. Not directly mind, but it’s there all the same.

Back in 1997, there was this weird movie out by David Lynch called Lost Highway. Weird as hell with a kick ass, excuse my French (this statement may become ironic in a minute) soundtrack. It had Marilyn Manson, Nine Inch Nails, David Bowie, and so on. Lots of really great bands and artists I was fond of in Junior High. Oh yeah, I was a kid when this movie came out, sorry. And yeah, I watched it and a half dozen other of David Lynch’s works. I was raised on Dune for cryin’ out loud. What do you expect?

But there was this other band on there, a German band no one in the States had ever heard of. See. Trent Reznor, front man of Nine Inch Nails, was in charge of finding the music and he snagged two songs from Rammstein’s Herzeleid album. “Rammstein” and “Heirate Mich.” I loved it instantly. It was gutteral, it was hard and heavy, it was foreign, but it was also very sensual. I wanted to know what they were saying. I wanted to understand. I wanted to speak German.

What the hell does this have to do with Kevin? I’ll get to that.

I took up German, first at a summer language camp. Oh yeah, they have those. I spent a month immersed in German and Spanish. By the way, I did not like Spanish. Then, when I was in College, I took it up again. It was hard at first. It didn’t really click in my brain. My professor was concerned. She was worried I wouldn’t do well. But then, something happened, it sank in. It became second nature, I loved it. I didn’t internalize completely. That wouldn’t happen for a few years, but I fell in love with the German language. And I kept listening to Rammstein.

Even though the lyrics were kind of cheesy when translated into English and even though my ex-husband thought they were crap. But that jerk thought a lot of stuff was crap, including me. So no mystery there as to why he’s an ex.

Anyway, after the ex was out of the picture, I got tired of bar hopping and trying to find someone at work or in the area. It wasn’t working, end of story. I went to online dating. Don’t look at me like that. Online dating is perfectly acceptable. One of my qualifications was German. Go figure right? Guess who came up in the search? Kevin. Long story short, I’m happy, happier than I’ve ever been.

And for our three year anniversary, we went to Chicago to see Rammstein play live, in the US, for the first time in 10 years. The show was amazing, beautiful, funny, awesome. A few things struck me during the show.

For one, they’re a bunch of dorks. Rammstein are total nerds when it comes to what they love and enjoy. They’re six brothers, symbolically of course, that get their kicks from performing together and it shows in their performance. When you find your joy, your passion in life, it shows. You get, well, you get nerdy about it. It’s an awesome thing to watch.

Something else that came to me during the show. Rammstein has a song called “Benzin,” which translates to petroleum or gasoline in English. The song discusses humanity’s obsession with petroleum and petroleum by-products, emphasized by the lead singer, Till Lindeman (love him by the way, gorgeous gorgeous man), humped a gas pump. It’s a very poignant moment. This coincided with the first part of a short story I was reading by Edward Lerner called “Energized” about an energy crisis in which gas is 20 bucks a gallon and the United States is hit by a deep recession. If you haven’t encountered Mr. Lerner’s works yet, do so. He’s an incredible author.

I won’t go into details or go into a big discourse. Instead, I will leave you with a video from the Chicago show.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rammstein!

  1. DavidRM says:

    Rockin’. =)

    I *love* Rammstein. The soundtrack of my first nonfiction book, The Indie Game Development Survival Guide, was almost entirely Rammstein (Mutter and Senschuct, mostly). I was still listening to them a few years later while working on The Summoning Fire.

    One of the things I love about Rammstein is that I *don’t* know what they’re saying. =) I’ve translated a few of their lyrics, out of curiosity. The one time I listened to the English version of “Du Hast”, though, was enough. I prefer the German versions.

    I’m also a fan of Eisbrecher (who sound a lot like Rammstein) and And One (who really don’t).

    -David

    • A lot of people gripe about the translation, but what they fail to understand is, number one, it’s not going to translate one hundred percent into English, and number two, it’s poetry set to music. You have to take the context into account. A lot of their stuff is metaphorical and full of double entendres and hidden meanings. Oh, and the English version of “Du Hast?” That’s not even a correct translation. It’s pretty much completely wrong. Don’t ask me why it was translated that way, but it was.

  2. DavidRM says:

    Yeah, I’m sure a lot gets lost in translation. Like you say, it’s poetry, which is always built with and around the nuances of language it’s expressed in.

    On the other hand, there are some bands that I *wish* I couldn’t understand or had only the vaguest notion what they’re saying. Like Kings of Leon. 😉

    -David

  3. John Smith says:

    it’s a great band with best live perfomance ever! Their shows are exciting, so much fire, pyroeffects, the quality of sound are excellent!

Comments are closed.