Notes on the go

One of the biggest problems I run into as a writer is that odd idea that comes up when I don’t have access to a computer or a notepad. I know, I know, a responsible writer should carry a notebook or some other writing implement, but let’s face it, it’s not always convenient or feasible to carry something like that around.

Enter, Evernote. It’s a cool little application you can save to your PC, attach to your browser, and even download to your phone that saves notes, pictures, files, websites, etc. so that you have access to them wherever you have Evernote.

So, say you’re out at the grocery store, and you suddenly have this idea, you can whip out your phone, jot it down in your Evernote application and it syncs with your other Evernote apps. When you get home, you can pull up Evernote on your PC and use the notes to add to your story. You found a recipe surfing the web, but you don’t have all the ingredients? Add it to web-clipper, sync with your phone and use the phone app as a shopping list. And finally, my favorite. Carrying a crafting project that needs a pattern? Stick the pattern in Evernote and have it wherever you go, on your phone or PC. I love it, really, I do. I haven’t had a chance to use it much, but you can believe I will. Bonus, there’s a Linux version.

I will let you know how it goes, but I have a feeling, this is going to be incredibly useful. Or a huge pain. Time will tell.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Notes on the go

  1. Madison Woods says:

    I recently discovered my phone has a voice recorder on it and I’ve used the heck out of it for notes since then. Usually I *do* carry a notebook around, but I forget it sometimes.

    • I’m not much of a voice recorder person myself. I much prefer text and Evernote is really useful so far. The only issue I could see with it would be if I’m driving, obviously, I can’t text on my phone. So, in that case, it would probably be better for a recorder.

Comments are closed.