Gaaaaaammmmmeeessss

Oh my dear sweet Flying Spaghetti Monster, why must you make Fall so horrible on my wallet? There are way too many delicious games out there. What? You didn’t know I was a gamer? That much should be obvious. Anywho, I digress. We must talk games.

First, there’s X-men Destiny by Activision due out on September 30th. I was kind of hoping this would be an MMO, but it still looks pretty awesome and I do like the “choose your own destiny” type games. Here, watch the preview.

Then, they’re re-releasing Halo: Combat Evolved (Microsoft) for the Xbox 360 on November 15th. I’ve been playing Halo since number 2. Granted, I was just playing online, I wasn’t playing the actual story, but it will be nice to play it from the beginning and see how it all began.

Also, there are going to be two new Sherlock Holmes games, The New Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (Focus Home Interactive) some time at the end of this year and The Testament of Sherlock Holmes (Ubisoft) in early 2012. Now, I’m sure some of you are like, Sherlock Holmes, so what? They’re fun little puzzle games, and I’m a sucker for puzzle games. I like games that make me think and I really do kind of like Sherlock Holmes, though I’m more a fan of the gritty, drug addict Holmes (read original Holmes) than the prim and proper, upstanding Holmes (read Data of TNG).

Now we’re about to get really nerdy because Lego Harry Potter: Years 5-8 (Sony DADC Austria AG) comes out later this year too. I played through the first game and had an absolute blast. The Lego games are way too much fun and really funny. I expect this game to be just as much fun. The regular games after about 5 were such a disappointment. It’s nice to play a game based on the books and the movie that keeps the spirit of the game and is enjoyable. Don’t get me started on the game for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt. 1. Ugh.

Okay, super, fan-girly squee moment. Assasin’s Creed Revelations (Ubisoft), also November 15th (omgomgomgomg). When these games came out originally, I never really picked up on them because I thought they were hard and they didn’t look like much. Then I saw my boyfriend, Kevin, playing the second one and I thought, what the hell? It’s something to do. Holy hell are these games fun. You get to sneak around and assassinate people, steal stuff, and do puzzles. What’s a gal not to like? Not to mention that Ezio has a sexy voice. Hehe. Yes, I’m bad. Here’s a preview to salivate over.

Second, super, fan-girly squee moment. Mass Effect 3 (EA Games), due out March of 2012. Yeah, yeah, not technically fall, but I’ve been looking forward to this game for a while and, truthfully, it was supposed to come out in November, but I guess they didn’t want to compete with all the other drool worthy games out there. And, well, who doesn’t like a completed game? Anyone wanna talk about Duke Nukem Forever? Yeah, I didn’t think so.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.