Stay classy Science Fiction Book Club

No, really, this place rocks. Yeah, it harks back to the day of Columbia music club, but damn if I don’t like to get a new book eleven days before it hits the shelves.

I pre-ordered Destined by P.C. and Kristen Cast at the beginning of October, it shipped on the 26th and arrived today, Halloween. Yep, a vampire book on Halloween. I like it. I don’t think the book is actually due out for another week or so. Very nice.

Then there’s the Parasol Protectorate by Gail Carriger and Reamde by Neal Stephenson. Protectorate really impressed me in the packaging because it’s got one of those silky nylon book marks glued into the binding. I don’t know why, but I think that’s pretty damn classy, myself. Now, this might be something the original publisher did, I don’t know. I haven’t had a chance to compare the two. Either way, it’s cool.

Reamde is bound the same way as Anathem, super slick pages, ultra-thin and HEAVY. If more publishers spent the time and care to bind and present their books like this, I think they’d do better. I like cool books with neat binding and extra stuff thrown in, like the silky, nylon book mark. Call me a sucker, I don’t care. It’s neat.

All in all, I’ve been really impressed with the Science Fiction Book Club and plan on staying a member for years to come. Stay classy guys and I’ll keep coming back.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stay classy Science Fiction Book Club

  1. I like books that go the extra distance too. Shiny and embossed covers are great, and I like it when the pagers are all rough cut and uneven–gives them a handmade feel. Great find :-).

  2. Chris Kouju says:

    Wow, you sound as if you read so much more than me! 😀

    Thank you for subscribing to my blog! Trying to find your About page. I’ll find it somewhere, I’m sure!

Comments are closed.