Barnes and Noble’s Nook “Tablet”

Yes, this is what I was waiting for. Barnes and Noble announced today that they are releasing a full color tablet on November 18th. Huzzah! This is me doing my happy dance.

It’s a nice tablet. No, it’s not a full tablet, but neither is the Kindle Fire, and it definitely one-ups the Fire. It’s got a 1GHz dual-core processor like the Fire, but it’s got a full gig of RAM, which you need with a good processor. The Nook Tablet (really, tablet, that’s all you’ve got?) is also on Gingerbread. Touting 11.5 hours of battery life for reading and 8 hours with continues HD video, it looks pretty sweet. Plus it weighs less than a pound. Oh and it’s 50 bucks more than the Fire, but I’m okay with that. No, really. I was looking at an Archos 80 G9 for about $320, so it’s not that bad of a deal. In fact, it’s nice.

All in all, I’m excited. I get to support my favorite bookstore (I’ll be buying my tablet locally as well) and it’s a nice piece of equipment for a great price. And, eventually, I imagine I’ll be able to flash it and throw Honeycomb on there, or if I wait long enough, I’ll be able to buy one with Honeycomb. Nice one B&N!

OH, FYI, one drawback, their “Online chat” is pretty worthless. I jumped in to see if one of their reps could answer a few questions for me and it was pretty much like talking to a computer. So done with that. Not sure how their customer service will fair over the phone, but then, if I flash it, I probably won’t have to worry about it.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Barnes and Noble’s Nook “Tablet”

  1. Pingback: Barnes and Noble Nook Review

Comments are closed.