Goals for 2012

Well, I just submitted my Q1 story for Writers of the Future. Good luck little guy, (little? Not likely) you’re gonna need it. With that done, and out of the way, I can focus on my goals for the next year. I’ve set them a little lower than last year, seeing as I didn’t get anywhere near completing them.

So, my goals for 2012 are:

Write 6 novels
Write 4 novellas
E-pub said novels and novellas
E-pub two novels currently sitting on my hard drive awaiting edits and covers
E-pub 5 short stories/novelettes

I have four stories up currently. Once I get thee two stories occupying my hard drive up, plus my goals, this will put me at 22 stories up and on line. I like this number. This is getting close to where I need to be.

Now, considering the average novel is 50k or more and the average novella is between 15k and 40k, I am looking at 300-600k words for novels and 60k-160k for novellas. On the long side, that’s 760k words for the year, slightly lower than my goal of 1.2 million words for last year. Assuming I write on the long side, and, honestly, this is me, so it will be on the long side, that will be just under 2100 words per day. That’s not bad. If I focus, I can knock that out in about 2 hours, one if I’m really good. So two hours a day and I can get through all of that.

I won’t go into what I want to write, exactly, because some of it will be under pen names, but it will get done. I got a shiny new notebook for Christmas and my notes for what and when will go there. Needless to say, expect sequels to Quantum Magic and Galileo’s Stepdaughter. I know I promised one of those sooner, but the holidays kind of reared their ugly head, plus renovations to the house and a whole slew of other things and, well, it did not happen as planned. I’m okay with this, just sorry you all have to wait longer. Expect some promotions when those novels come out.

Now, we come to dreams.

1. Win WotF
2. Earn a thousand a month from my e-sales.
3. Earn enough to cover my work salary from e-sales
4. Make a professional short story sale to a professional print magazine/publication.

You’ll notice I don’t have submit to professional print magazine/publications in my goals. I’m not really terribly focused on my short stories right now. I like novels and novellas better. What I do write in short stories will mainly go to WotF. What gets rejected will go to the pro-zines. I have my semi-finalist which is out among the masses right now. Fingers crossed for me. I’d love some good news.

Well, that’s it for now. I will let you wonderful readers know more as things develop. Happy New Year! Stay safe, don’t drink and drive, yadda yadda yadda, you’ve heard the spiel. Bis bald!

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.