In it to win it

So, I just submitted a short story for Quarter 2 of Writers of the Future. I can’t say much on it, considering the contest is supposed to be done anonymously. I will say I’m glad it’s done. At this point, I was to win the contest so I can stop entering it and focus on other things, like novels.

Which brings me to my next point. I AM working on them and I do have the sequel to Galileo’s Stepdaughter, Galileo Resurrected, almost done. I’m just waiting on the cover. You know who you are.

I’ve also got some other novels in the works. Some will be under other pen names. Some I’ll list here, some I won’t. The main reason for the pen names is so you readers know what it is you’re getting. I’d hate for you to pick up what you thought was a sci-fi thriller and get a paranormal romance or some such. So it’s mainly for clarity. I will have at least one novel up this month, if not two. I’m going to do my best to have a new release every month, but I won’t make any promises as current events have shown even if I’m done, not everything else is reliable (e-publishers, emergencies, my work schedule, etc.)

Stay tuned.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In it to win it

  1. Martin L. Shoemaker says:

    Healthy attitude. Look forward, always forward!

    • I like to think so. I’m not really giving up, just tired of the constant cycle. I’m not much of a short story person, personally, but meh, it takes all kins.

      • Martin L. Shoemaker says:

        I hear ya. I seem trapped in a middle ground: my short stories are consistently 15,000 word range, but my novel ideas fizzle. I have three novels in my head, none on paper. So WotF is a most-likely target for me.

        You have to write what’s natural for you, then find the readers for that.

      • Glad to know I’m not the only one. I’ve got like 8 novels I want to work on, but WotF keeps demanding short stories. And then the ones I do write, are too long for most markets for a new, unproven author.

Comments are closed.