Writers of the Future results

Well, it looks like an honorable mention for me. I suppose it’s not a bad thing. It’s certainly better than a rejection, but not where I would like to be. I’ve made a promise to myself. I’m going to keep entering this damn contest until I win or pro-out, and considering the length I write at, unless I have an ebook that becomes wildly popular, I’m not going to pro-out. And maybe that’s the problem. I’m not a fan of writing “short” stories. I prefer longer works. As a writer friend told me, I think too big. I pick topics that have to be told over a couple hundred pages, not twenty or thirty. I suppose it’s something I should practice, but, other than WotF, I don’t have a whole lot of drive to write short stories. And you know what, that’s okay. But I’ll keep writing them until I win because I want to win.

The contest is so much more than a cash prize and a workshop. It’s an experience. It’s a community. It’s a network and friendships. People who lift you up after a bad rejection and pat you on the back when you sell a story. Teachers and mentors you can reach out to for help and advice. It is a family that pulls together over a loss and consoles each other when no one else understands. And yeah, it’s there whether you win or lose, but it’s bound to feel that much better when you win.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.