This is why I don’t want an agent

I recently got into a “discussion” with some other writers about the merits of agents.  Mainly, that certain writers think an agent can get them the golden tickets on a silver platter.  I do not have nor will I ever have an agent because of all the horror stories I’ve heard about them.  And honestly, given the way a lot of them have presented themselves in the public eye, I’m forced to believe those stories.  This latest bit by the AAR is very eye-opening to say the least.  For more information, see Dean Wesley Smith’s site.  Head-shakingly bad behavior.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This is why I don’t want an agent

  1. Martin L. Shoemaker says:

    Stick to your guns, Amanda! But I’m not sure it’s worth the time discussing it with people who disagree. You won’t convince most of them, and the time you spend trying might better be spent writing. Being successful without an agent will be the best argument you can make.

    • So very true, Martin. Eventually, I just gave up. No matter what I said it went through one ear and right out the other. Kind of sad. But I can hope that even one writer looking for an agent will look at this and realize it’s bad business. Mainly, my writer friends. But maybe they just have to get burned.

Comments are closed.