Finding the Passion

I know I haven’t been on here much lately.  I’ve been in a bit of a funk.  I don’t know if I would call it depression so much as I can’t really focus on anything but knitting and video games right now.  I don’t know, maybe my brain needs a break.

Or, more likely, I’m in the midst of working on some convention work for a video game panel and I just came back from a knitting festival in Dallas.

Let me tell you, I came back excited from that festival.  I had so many ideas in my head and saw so many beautiful pieces of work.  It really made me want to jump into my work again.

Because being around other people who do what you do and are in further stages than you really rev your creativity.

Once I realized this and looked at my writing, I went back to reading some of my favorite writing blogs.  And I’ve got a lot of catching up to do.

One of the really awesome things I came across was this blog on Dean Wesley Smith’s website.  He’s working on a ghost novel project right now.  No, it’s not a novel about ghosts.  For the uninformed, a ghost novel is a novel one writer writes as a “ghost” for another writer.  Usually a celebrity or an author that came under deadline and just can’t deliver.  There are other reasons for it, but that’s the long and short of it.

What he’s doing, is going over his day to day process of how he writes the novel.  He can’t release specifics, but he does go over the general of idea.  When he gets up, how long he writes, what may have gotten in the way of writing or slowed him down, etc.

It gave me an idea.

While I am no USA Today Bestseller, I am a writer, and I should hold myself accountable for my work.  So I will post here, every day, what my writing process is.  When I wrote, for how long, my breaks, what distracted me from my writing, my thought process, mental state, what have you.  I’m mainly doing this for myself so that I can examine why I’m having trouble writing and to hold myself accountable for my words.  I do it also in the hopes that it might inspire someone else.  Or, that another writer might be able to give me pointers on what I’m doing wrong.  It will also allow me to see when and how I’m most productive.

This is an experiment, done in hopes of getting a fire lit back under my butt and to get things done.  I know what I’m capable of, but I’m not letting myself reach that potential.

That makes me angry because I love to write and I shouldn’t let my own hangups stop me from doing what I love.

See you crazy kids tomorrow.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.