Writing under a Microscope: Day 1

Got up about 8:30 this morning.  Fed the dogs.  Fed myself.  Checked e-mail, Facebook, etc while watching TV.

Sat down for a 45 minute writing session at about 10:15

Wrote 1700 words.

Took a 30 minute break to farm some orange and pearlescent items in Borderlands 2.  Yup.  I’m THAT writer.

Made lunch.  Ate lunch with Kevin.  Realized that about 500 words of what I had written earlier was out of continuity.  This did cause a little writing panic as I didn’t want to delete what I’d done and take away from my word count.

Rather than delete those 500 words, I save them to another document to be used at a later date as it was a really good scene.  Or at least, what I think is a really good scene.

Did some laundry for Kevin.  Did dishes.  Cleaned up after lunch.

I sat down for another 20 minutes around 4pm to reorganize what I had written earlier and finish the book.  I wrote about 800 words.  The book is done.  I’ll need to go through and check for spelling and grammar errors.

After I finished the book, I did another couple of farming runs in Borderlands 2 to celebrate.

I want to get one more 45 minute writing session in before bed.  I hope to get 1500-2000 words done during that time.

I’ll edit here if I get it done.

What I did for my process today was write on my Microsoft Suface, sitting on the couch with a lap desk, running a Pandora station created with Phutureprimitive.  I used a sand hour glass to time the 45 minutes.  My main distractions were the dogs who insist I cuddle with them while I write.  I’ll need to brainstorm what to start tonight.  Possibly book 3 in this series or perhaps continue another series.  I will let you know what I decide.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writing under a Microscope: Day 1

  1. I’ve done that too…preserved precious words for later. Not gonna give up the count!

    I’ve also struck words in the document rather than delete them.

    Is it normal for you to crank out 1500 words in 45 minutes? That’s a nice pace. =)

    -David

    • 1500 hundred to 2100 words depending on how I’m feeling about the plot at that time period. I can do 70 wpm easily when I do dictation, so I guess cut that in half for story writing.

      • Nice.

        I probably range from 750-1000 words an hour when writing fiction. I have done as much as 1500 words in a single hour before, but that’s an outlier.

        Just typing, though, I’m right there with you. Close to 70 wpm.

        I compose slower than I type. =)

Comments are closed.