Writing Under a Microscope: Day 2

So, I’m posting here to hold myself accountable and see what I can work on and what I can fix.

I got up around 8:30 again, fed the dogs, ate breakfast, and got distracted.  I didn’t sit down to write until almost 11:30 this morning.  However, I was interrupted by a very rude sinus headache due to all the crazy weather we have going on down here.  I made it as far as lunch and laid down for an hour.  The headache persisted and I didn’t get to write again until about an hour ago due to many more distractions and waiting for the headache to go away.

Poker Night 2 is a dangerous game and I must use it only as a reward for words written.

All in all, I only got about 1300 words written today.  It’s a new story, so I didn’t expect to get much done today, but I had hoped for 2500, especially considering I got nothing done after my blog post last night.  I need to space out my writing time while Kevin is at work and maybe one before bed.  So, three during the day and one more possible session at night.  That should give me about 6-8 thousand words a day.  If I did more than that, I think I could do one of these vampire novellas every day or more likely, every other day.  But I’m not sure what kind of person I would be at the end of one of those days.

Now that I’ve gotten the story started, I will go back to writing on my Surface with Pandora and a timer.  I should have probably started the story that way, but with these posts, I’m experimenting.  I wanted to see if it would be easier to start a story in an different manner.  It wasn’t.  Back to the Surface tomorrow.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.