Writing Under a Microscope: Day 5

Woke up around 8:30.  Kevin had already fed the dogs.  So I made breakfast and watched last night’s episode of MadMen on DVR.  Dithered around until 10 and had a 45 minute writing session.  I got about 1300 words.  I tried a second 45 minute writing session after 11, but Kevin came home early for lunch.  I got about 300 words in that time frame.

Started another writing session at 1pm and got 1600 words.  I was at about 3200 at that point.  Did another writing session at 2pm and got another 1600 words for a total of 4800.

I took a two hour break to cool off, nap, and watch some B5.  We had dinner and watched some Game of Thrones and I did my last 45 minute writing session of the night, reaching 2200 words.

So 7000 words for the day.  I might try to squeeze out another thousand before bed, but my Surface tablet needed a recharge after so much use today.

Some things I noticed.

I was actually anxious to get back to writing on my breaks.  That’s the first time that’s happened in a while.

I wrote more words in the evening than I did during the day.  I might try to squeeze in more evening writing sessions, but there are more distractions.

Also?  My wrists and arms hurt.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing Under a Microscope: Day 5

  1. Rockin!

    I wrote just over 2000 words today. You win. =)

    -David

Comments are closed.