Iron Man 3 review

Okay, I’m going to try to keep the spoilers to a minimum.  Seriously though, why haven’t you seen this movie yet?

Iron Man is kind of our thing.  We saw the first movie on our first date ever.  I have a soft spot for Tony Stark.

Not like that, weirdo.

Robert Downey Jr. is a good looking guy, no lie.  But that’s not the only reason I watch it.

I grew up watching Fox Saturday morning cartoons of X-men, Spiderman, and Iron Man.  While RDJ’s Tony Stark is completely different from the comic book Stark, I love him.  He’s snarky, a little bit arrogant (okay a lot, shut up), funny, and smart.

The movie is good.  It’s pretty funny, good action, and a compelling story.  There’s a good romance too.  They kept a lot of Whedon’s character developments from Avengers as well.

Ben Kingsley is absolutely brilliant as the Mandarin.  It’s one of my favorite parts.  There’s another part, in the final show down, that just gave me chills.  I’ll give you a hint.  Party Protocol.  Very neat.

I know a lot of comic book fans have a lot of issues with the movie.  And I get it.  I look at movies first to entertain.  Are the characters engaging?  Is the plot (suspending disbelief) believable?  Do they cross any lines I’m uncomfortable with?  Iron Man 3 met my criteria.

However, a die hard X-men fan myself, I get why they’re mad.  We won’t talk about the Fox X-men movies.  It’s too painful.  So I understand their pain, but I just really like the movie.  I guess I’m a little partial.  Feel free to post your feelings in the comments.  If you haven’t seen it yet, please be advised, there may be spoilers in the comments.  I won’t filter that.

If you get hateful, I will nuke your comment.

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Iron Man 3 review

  1. CMrok93 says:

    There are really exciting action scenes with Iron Man, but this movie goes back to what I liked about the first film. That’s what I needed and that’s what I liked so much. Good review Amanda.

Comments are closed.