Why I wrote Galileo’s Stepdaughter

Recently, I was involved in a StoryBundle called Women of the Apocalypse. My book, Galileo’s Stepdaughter was one of the stories included. I wanted to take a moment to talk about why I wrote it.

I like apocalyptic stories. Not so much zombies, but things where society breaks down in general. Not like The Walking Dead type apocalypse, but more like The Stand. I also really like the post-apocalyptic stories such as Matched, the Hunger Games, and Wool. I like to see how humanity deals with the end.

That’s why I wrote Galileo’s Stepdaughter. I wanted to see what would happen in a world where some cataclysm drove humanity to religious fervor and fear of technology. What kind of world would that be?

I hope I’ve done that. I’m happy to say, I am working on the third and final book in the New Dark Ages trilogy and I hope to have it out this summer.

In the mean time, if you missed our StoryBundle, and you’d like to read my book, and a bunch of other apocalyptic and post-apocalyptic stories, we’ve put our books into an independent bundle, available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Kobo, and iBooks. The best part is, it’s 99 cents. You really can’t beat that.

Women of the Apocalypse - 3D Bundle

About amandamccarter

I am an aspiring writer. I spend most of my time balancing my work, my personal life and my craft. It is my hope that my craft and my work will one day be the same thing and I can spend more time on my personal life. I live with my boyfriend, my insane fluff ball of a cat, and two snakes. In what little spare time I have, I play video games, read, knit, and help out with the local conventions.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.